The 2019 Back to School Regatta and 2nd BVI Laser Masters Championship took place on Saturday 14 September with beautiful conditions out of Nanny Cay in the Sir Francis Drake Channel.  20 sailors raced across five classes with sailors from Virgin Gorda joining the action.

Christian Thompson was not to be beaten in the Laser Masters and with six bullets in the Laser Standard fleet, he retains his title from 2018. 

Second place went to Mike Hirst who picked up a virtual clean sweep of second place finishes after a first race warm up.  Third overall was claimed by Oliver Alsop just three points ahead of fourth placed Joe McIvor.  Chris Haycraft was fifth and Peter Tarn sixth.

Rayne Duff, sailing a Laser Radial, certainly gave the Standards a run for their money but with the results separated, he posts a perfect score card of first place finishes.  Max Reshetiloff claimed second whilst Samuel Allen, now graduated from the Optimist class, picked up the Laser 4.7 title.

Three RS Fevas took to the water with 2019 Dinghy Champs winners, Victoria Rowlette and Amanda Plaxton eager to add another trophy to their cabinet. 

Ashley and Chris Brockbank shared the helming for this regatta and fired out of the blocks with two straight bullets.  They traded places with the girls with the two teams ending the regatta on equal points and the exact same positions from the six races.  The win was therefore decided by the position in the final race which gave the title to Rowlette and Plaxton. 

Kenny Jones and Theo joining us for the first time from Virgin Gorda put up a strong fight, book-ending their day with a second in the first and last races.

There were five Opti Green fleet competitors who are working hard with Coach Toby to develop their skills each week in the after school program.  Wil Seddon from Virgin Gorda was the stand out sailor picking up a string of bullets for the day.  Ethan George fought hard, securing a tie in race three and first place in race five to take second. 

The battle for third and fourth came down to just two points between Zaed Chalwell and Josiah Morris. The newest sailor in the fleet, Archie Drewett put in a fantastic performance in his second time out on a race course.

Supporting Our Neighbours In The Bahamas

In September 2017, the Back to School Regatta preparations were in full swing until all sailing in the BVI ground to a dramatic halt.  Two years on and dinghy sailing is thriving again and the RBVIYC is happy to see so many sailors across the generations enjoying themselves on the water.  This would not have been possible without a lot of hard work and generosity of many.  

With this in mind, we have committed to donating all entry fees and any donations collected at the regatta to our fellow youth sailors in the Bahamas who were affected by Hurricane Dorian.  We understand how important getting back out on the water was to sailors in the BVI and hope we can do a small part to support those in need.


Laser Standard (BVI Laser Masters Championship)

1. Christian Thompson – 5pts
2. Mike Hirst – 10 pts
3. Oliver Alsop – 15pts
4. Joe McIvor – 18pts
5. Chris Haycraft – 23 pts
6. Peter Tarn – 32pts

Laser Radial

1. Rayne Duff – 5 pts
2. Max Reshetilof – 10 pts

Laser 4.7

1. Samuel Allen – 5pts

RS Feva

1. Victoria Rowlette & Amanda Plaxton – 7pts
2. Ashley Brockbank & Chris Brockbank – 7pts
3. Kenny Jones & Theo – 13 pts

Opti Green Fleet

1. Wil Seddon
2. Ethan George
3. Zaed Chalwell 
4. Josiah Morris
5. Archie Drewett